top of page

The American Forest Farming Association (AFFA)

The American Forest Farming Association (AFFA) is envisioned as an organization that will support and promote forest farming at a national level. AFFA believes forest farming is the future of equitable and sustainable Non-timber Forest Product supply in the United States and will serve regional forest farming coalitions, networks, and initiatives by advancing farming capacity, market opportunities, sustainable practices, public awareness and policy, cultural recognition, and production science. The nationwide network represents forest farmers, forestland owners, wild harvesters, community-based organizations, along with associated business and agency partners.

American Forest Farming Association (AFFA) Draft Charter Public Review Period - OPEN March 15 to May 15, 2024


An AFFA ad hoc planning committee formed in 2023 with funding from the USDA National Agroforestry Center to create a draft charter describing the organization's function and structure, as well as services, activities, and growth strategies that form an inclusive and complementary professional association. The committee seeks your input on the resulting document. Please provide anonymous comments using this form by May 15, 2024. 


The form includes four sections with open comment fields - 1) Name, Mission, Vision, Values, Definitions; 2) Organizational Function, Structure, and Year 1 and 2 Priorities; 3) Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws Summary; and 4) General Comments. 


Many thanks for your time and input. We look forward to hearing from you!

-AFFA Ad Hoc Planning Committee

Draft Charter Public Review Survey - CLOSED
AFFA Survey QR Code.png

2023 - 2024 American Forest Farming Association Ad Hoc Advisory Committee

2024 AFFA - January.jpeg

American Forest Farming Association Ad Hoc Planning Committee 2024

Back, L to R: Missy Moyers Jarrels, Victor Harris, Anna Plattner, Chris Parker, Karam Sheban, Nils Mueggenburg, Katie Trozzo, Catherine Van Noy, Front, L to R: John Munsell, Margaret Bloomquist, Kate MacFarland, Eric Jones. Members not in photo: Jim Allen, Hannah Hemmelgarn, Michael McGuffin.

We thank the USDA National Agroforestry Center for sponsoring this effort.

bottom of page